The Thing About Boudoir Is…

While boudoir photography is very popular all around the U.S, here in Utah it is…a little more uncommon.

I get a lot of questions about what boudoir photography is and with me getting ready to launch my holiday boudoir marathon ad, I thought I would clear some things up..

It is Empowering. – That’s right, my number one thing is it is empowering. As women, we get so swept up in trying to be everything to every body, that we forget just how incredible we are. Most of my clients are wives and moms that just want to be pampered and remember how gorgeous they are. While most women get their photos done for their significant other, the experience of wearing the things that make you feel the most beautiful is incredible.

It can be Modest – I know..you think that is crazy, but it can be incredibly modest! It is all about what YOU feel sexy in! You wanna wear a little black dress? Let’s do it! You like the idea of the big sweaters? I’m in! Your husband thinks the idea of you in a football jersey is the ultimate sex symbol? Then let’s get a matching pair of undies and be on our way! Boudoir IS NOT just nudity or lingerie! It IS feeling sexy in your own skin!

It is an event – Let’s be honest. You are not going to be getting this done every year. I mean, you might, and if you do, I hope that you book with me, but for most women, this will happen once. So, I like to go all out. I want you to feel like the gorgeous woman you are! We will plan out your session in great detail, I will send you all sorts of tips and tricks so that you are completely comfortable the day of your session!  I have a few very amazing and talented esthetician friends who will come and do your make up, I bring music and snacks to our session! You are going to feel AMAZING!

It is Personal – So, when you book with me, I will take down your basic time and date, but then the real fun begins! After you set your date, I will send you one of my very favorite things, my welcome packet! In there, you will find all sorts of documents that will help you get ready for your session, but in there, is a questionnaire. And it is your Dream Session Builder. It asks EVERY question I could ever think of. Some questions are basic, some are about personality, and some are the awkward questions I don’t want to ask after we start shooting! I don’t want to talk about your “problem areas” while we are doing your session, I want to get the awkwardness out of the way before I even get you in front of my lens! These are images that I want you to love, so I tailor every bit of your session to you specifically including your posing.

It is Private – If you go to my website, you aren’t going to see a lot of boudoir. I have exactly 2 sessions that I am allowed to share with the world, and I’m okay with that. There are many photographers that I know that require a model release when they take your images. I will of course offer you one, and it states specifically what I am allowed to do with the images, but I do not expect any woman to sign it. After your session, I will put your images onto a hard drive, I will edit them, I send off for your album from a professional print company (don’t worry, the guy from Costco isn’t going to be the one printing your sexy pictures). After your images are all done, I will download them to your usb, package up your album and any other products you order, and I hand deliver them.  keep your images stored on an external hard drive, so they aren’t on my computer. I really value your privacy and your trust in me. I take every precaution to make sure that you feel safe.

It is For Every Woman – It seems almost every inquiry that I get, the woman will say things like “I want to book, but I want to lose X pounds first.” and that is just silly. Boudoir is NOT just for skinny girls. It is for every shape and age! Using posing techniques we can hide any..ermm..problem areas!

Boudoir is lots of things, because it is completely personal. It is just whatever you choose for it to be!

 

 

 

Leave a comment